One of the give away pieces of lace

This is one of the peices of lace I gave away last year.  This one went to the prize box for the SCA event I didn’t get to go to.                                                                                                                                      

dsc00397.jpg    dsc00403.jpg  dsc00400.jpg

 This is a drawn thread/cutwork piece.   It only had a little build up in the corners, and a bunch of ‘bundling’ in the threads that were left behind  after I pulled the other threads out.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

                                                                                                                                                                            

                                                                                                                                                                             

4 thoughts on “One of the give away pieces of lace

  1. I enjoyed your pix! You are very talented – I can’t imagine having the patience and dexterity to make such lovely things. It’s great to see people preserving old traditions too.

  2. Thank you very much.

    I’m honestly only a beginner. I’m working at becoming passable, but the work I do would only be maybe a 12 year old’s level of acheivement in the 16th century. But I keep working on it. 🙂

    I will be taking pictures of my latest peice of lace soon, if the white linen with white linen thread to make the lace will show up on the white paper with pattern on it. Oops! When I made the pattern, I didn’t think about taking pictures to document my progress.

  3. … the work I do would only be maybe a 12 year old’s level of acheivement in the 16th century.

    Now I’m doubly glad I didn’t live in the 16th century. If I made lace, the end result would resemble something made by a two-year old – a two-year old with ADD who was hyped up on red cordial!

  4. LOL

    They started young, though, apprenticed at an early age (at least, in the lace fields, and from what my research is telling me so far). They started as young as 6 or 7 at times, and were given simple tasks like cleaning, getting the right material and the right fiber for making the lace. For the first 5 or 6 years of their apprenticeship, everything they made went to their Masters.

    It was when they’d get to their teenage years that they’d be allowed to keep some of their work. Sometimes, they sold their work to lower income people (who wanted what the gentry wanted, but couldn’t afford the price of better work), or they’d keep it in their hope chest.

    I started doing this lace at 39 years old. So I started late in life. I did have experience with embroidery, macrame, and some tatting from before, so I’m picking it up quicker than somebody with no experience in any of those art forms. But yeah, I have a LONG way to go.

    And I LOVE your description!

Leave a Reply

